Red Rocket Readers

Red Rocket Readers is an award-winning reading series that’s been carefully crafted and levelled to ensure reading success 

Red Rocket Readers is a reading program offering a balanced selection of instructional books all carefully crafted and levelled to ensure early reading success. Designed for guided reading, intervention, ELL and special education.


  • Over 600 levelled readers.
  • Illustrated fiction and photographic non-fiction titles at graded levels.
  • Officially levelled by Fountas & Pinnell using the F&P text level gradient.
  • Reading level correlations for Reading Recovery/Intervention and Lexile Measures (independently assessed).
  • Recurring characters that children will love.
  • STEM/STEAM topics and themes.


Download the components chart

Ensure the success of reading strategies


Red Rocket Readers feature colourful, entertaining illustrations and photographs that support the text, launch oral discussion and develop student comprehension. The classic story structure (tension, climax and resolution) ensures children will want to engage with the texts.


  • Enable students to read for enjoyment and information as they access meaning from fiction and non-fiction text.
  • Feature meaningful concepts and experiences that children can relate to.
  • Develop word recognition along with language development.
  • Focus on increasing knowledge of print conventions, phonological patterns and phonic knowledge in context.
  • Ideal for Guided Reading, Reading Recovery, ESL, ELL and other Special Needs and Remedial programs.

Meet the author


Series editor and author of the Red Rocket Readers program, Pam Holden has more than 30 years specialist experience in literacy.


As a Reading Recovery teacher she has worked one-to-one with hundreds of children struggling with literacy. Pam’s students have also included those approaching English as a second language, and children who are advanced and require extension. This experience has given the author a rare insight into the literacy process and has enabled her to identify many key elements that consistently block children’s progress, and develop levelled texts specifically for Guided Reading, Reading Recovery and other interventions.

Looking for more literacy resources?

Bug Club

Bug Club is a literacy program designed to support the effective and engaging teaching of reading for primary students in Foundation to Year 6.

Rigby Literacy

Rigby Literacy is a complete lower primary guided reading series for developing independent readers.

Rigby Literacy Collections

Rigby Literacy Collections provides teachers with a strong base for the exploration of all text types. At the heart of this series are the anthologies, consisting of fiction and nonfiction titles