Lucy Calkins < Units of Study for Reading


K-5 reading series

6-8 reading series

Author information

Shop online and receive free freight

Units of study reading

Innovative units, tools and methods, proven to improve teaching and learning reading

Comprehensive reading program designed to save you time

The series provides well-planned resources for teaching reading. It’s designed to guide teachers through lessons that help students meet and exceed reading expectations.

At every year level, detailed units of work include lesson plans along with mini-lessons and small group work to help students develop and improve their skills.

The series helps students move independently and also gives teachers the opportunity to conduct strategic performance assessments to help monitor students’ progress.

Comprehensive reading program designed to save you time
Developed by renowned author Lucy Calkins

Developed by renowned author Lucy Calkins

The series has been crafted by experienced author Lucy Calkins and her colleagues. Lucy has more than 30 years experience in developing state-of-the-art reading and writing teaching methods.

The series has been piloted and revised in thousands of classrooms over decades.

It primarily focuses on high volume of writing and daily protected writing time which leads to greater fluency and proficiency.

Read more about the research here.

Seamless transition between grades

The series provides reading workshops for Foundation level through to Year 8.

Each year level has specific units of study designed to meet developmental and curricular needs of students.

Seamless transition between grades

Teacher’s support

Teacher’s support

The series provides strong scaffolding and clear instructions.

Each unit of study provides five to six weeks of teaching support across all grade levels.


A Workshop Curriculum for Grades K-8

  • The reading units of study help teachers provide their students with instruction, opportunities for practice, and concrete achievable goals to help them meet and exceed high expectations.
  • Underpinned by proven tools and methods, the teaching in these books has been planned, taught, revised, and retaught, through a cycle of improvement involving thousands of classrooms in schools around the world.
  • Each reading unit has a clear instructional arc, representing about five to six weeks of teaching, structured into three or four ‘bends in the road’.


A Predictable Five-Part Workshop Framework

The reading workshop is deliberately designed to offer a simple and predictable framework so that the teacher can focus on the complex work of observing students’ progress and teaching to their needs.

  • Each session begins with a mini lesson. Students sit with a long-term partner while in the mini lesson.
  • The mini lesson ends with the students being sent off to their own independent work.
  • As students work, the teacher confers with them and leads small groups.
  • Partway through independent work time, the teacher stands a delivers a mid-workshop teaching point.
  • The workshop ends with a share.



More from Lucy Calkins


Shop online and receive free freight

Shop online