2017 Award Winners

Congratulations to the three students below, who have each won the Pearson Student of the Year Award for their respective category in 2017.

Each year, students from across Australia are nominated for the three award categories on the grounds of their outstanding effort, dedication, and academic achievement in their chosen field of study.

Nominees then have the opportunity to submit a presentation for the award. The winner of each category is determined by a subject expert who evaluates the strength of the nominating lecturer's supporting statement in addition to the quality of the nominees' ability to cogently and imaginatively respond to the following questions in a short presentation or video:
  1. Why are you studying your chosen degree?
  2. How will your learning impact on your life?
  3. What do you believe are the elements of your student success at university?
The overall winner receives a $1000 Coles-Myer voucher and a certificate. The runner ups receive a $500 Coles-Myer voucher and a certificate. Pearson would like to congratulate all three category winners and thank all students and lecturers who participated in this year's awards.


2017 Winners





Julie Ayoub
First place winner

View presentation

Information Technology & Computer Science

Lin Liu
Runner up

View presentation


Allan Soo
Runner up

View presentation