English Australia / Pearson Australia Award for Contribution to Professional ELICOS Practice

In a move to encourage and acknowledge professionalism within the Australian ELICOS sector, English Australia and Pearson Australia jointly offer an annual award for professional practice in ELICOS. The English Australia / Pearson Australia Award for Contribution to Professional ELICOS Practice is awarded to the person whose paper, accepted for and presented at the annual English Australia Conference, best meets the specified criteria.



The winner receives:

  • a cheque for $1,500
  • a certificate and an engraved trophy;

The winner will be profiled on the English Australia and Pearson Australia websites.

All nominees receive a Certificate of Nomination from English Australia and a ticket to the English Australia Conference gala awards dinner.



The winner's paper and presentation will demonstrate that they have reflected on their practice as an ELICOS teacher and have identified a number of useful and practical solutions to a particular issue.

Criteria for the award are:

  • The paper (max. 3000 words) provides practical support in teaching English language to international students within the context of Australian ELICOS;
  • The paper addresses the theme of the conference;
  • The paper is based on current TESOL theory and practice;
  • The paper is an original, previously unpublished work by the author.



A shortlist of up to four finalists is selected by the English Australia Conference Program Committee. The finalists' papers are evaluated by a panel of TESOL professionals and academics plus the previous year's winner.


Past winners

  • 2014 - Vicki Bos (ICTE-UQ, QLD)
  • 2013 - Karen Benson, Juliana Stepanova and Amanda Eads (Strathfield College, NSW)
  • 2012 - Barbara Craig and Sandra Pitronaci (Macquarie University English Language Centre, NSW)
  • 2011 - Juliana Kendi (La Trobe Melbourne, VIC) 
  • 2010 - Peter Copeman (University of Canberra, ACT)
  • 2009 - Ian Johnson (Griffith English Language Institute, QLD)
  • 2008 - Andrew Foley (South Australian College of English, SA)
  • 2007 - Denise Norton (Deakin University English Language Institute, VIC)



The Award is open to anyone employed by an organisation registered on CRICOS to deliver ELICOS.

Current members of the English Australia Council and employees of English Australia are not eligible, however staff working for colleges represented by English Australia Council members may apply.

Winners of other English Australia awards are welcome to apply for this award but previous winners of this award are not eligible.

The paper will be presented before the end of the second day of the conference to allow conference delegates to attend the presentations before the award is presented at the English Australia Conference gala awards dinner. All finalists must be available to attend the awards dinner as guests of Pearson Australia.


Annual timeframe

  • Submit abstract to English Australia Conference (May)
  • Abstract is accepted (July)
  • Submit paper to English Australia (15 August)
  • Shortlist is selected (end August)
  • Present paper at the English Australia Conference (September)
  • Award is presented at the conference dinner (September)


How to enter

Visit the English Australia website.