Kim Sutton - Making and creating:

The Maker Movement in classrooms (Part 2) 

Kim Sutton hero

As a teacher at the Catholic Education Office, Kimberley Sutton is passionate about inspiring and educating primary school children. Nowhere is this more evident than in her active and influential advocacy of the Maker Movement.

By incorporating Making into her classroom schedule, she’s changing the lives and mindsets of her students, helping them tap into their creativity, and showing them that learning and success can come in many different forms.

As an active Twitter user, Kim indulges her two interests - making and education - by participating in #aussieED and #makered.

Tell us a bit about yourself. As a teacher, where are you based and what subjects do you teach?

My name is Kimberley Sutton, and I’m a primary school teacher currently teaching year 6. I’ve taught classes in all levels of primary, as well as children ranging from early childhood to university, but my heart lies in primary education.

My favourite subjects are English and Science, and all the hands-on types of subjects.

How would you describe the Maker Movement to some of our readers who might not be familiar with it?

Usually, making in schools is similar to upcycling, where you take older objects, create new things and make them on your own.

In schools it’s a lot of STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering & Mathematics) based making, which incorporates things like science, technology and engineering, and has a specific purpose. The Maker Movement in schools is also centred around what happens in the outside world.

Making can be as simple as making games from recycled cardboard, or more elaborate, using resources like Arduinos and ThinkBots.

Kim Sutton quote tile1

How did you get involved in the Maker Movement? Did someone introduce you to it or did you stumble upon it on your own?